Dear Members of the NYSTS,
As we approach the end of summer, I do hope that you have all had a wonderful time with your families and have had the opportunity to take some time to rest and recharge. September is right around the corner and for some of us that means kids heading back to school. For others, it’s the signal for more traffic in our morning commutes. And perhaps most importantly, it marks the start of a new academic year with new attendings, fellows, and residents. For me, it’s all the above and more as I am also excited about our upcoming year’s events here at the NYSTS. The council has been working hard over the summer and I’m pleased to let you all know that our Fall meeting is set for Wednesday, November 8th at The Water Club overlooking the East River. Please mark this on your calendars. In this meeting we are looking forward to a lively and interactive discussion for all those attending. The first part of the evening (after the social hour) will be a debate-style discussion focusing on surgical revascularization options in CABG. Different institutions will be asked to present their optimal methods and defend their choices. Everyone in attendance is welcome to opine. No holds barred. But remember, what happens at the Water Club stays at the Water Club! The second part of the didactic session will focus on thoracic surgery. With the advent of immunotherapy and other exciting treatment advances, the traditional notion of what is and is not resectable is being challenged. In this section entitled “You did what??” – we are asking for case submissions of your craziest cases that push the limits of traditional surgery and perhaps offer a glimpse of where the future of thoracic surgery may lie. Again, we are hoping for a lively and “cordial” discussion. Prizes will be given to the best cardiac and thoracic presentations.
I am truly looking forward to seeing you all at the upcoming Fall meeting. Please remember to bring your residents, fellows and new faculty. The society is always in need of new members and please let me or any of the council members know if you want to be more active within the society. To a wonderful year ahead!
Warmest regards,
Benjamin Lee

NYSTS MEMBERS – Let us know if you are attending the Wednesday November 8th, 2023 Dinner Meeting:
Be sure that you are logged in and the then choose either:
Order Dinner Ticket(s) Nov2023
I Do not want Ticket(s) for the Nov 2023 Dinner Meeting